Wednesday 9 January 2013


To lotus, your query to define parigraha: Assuming one is aware of all the traditional and other meanings, parigraha can be defined as anything one stores, hoards, with intention of future consumption, use, application. When one perceives subtly, knowledge too becomes parigraha. Now to ponder...
The second query with regard to bondage(bandh) and its relation to parigraha: Suyagadang sutra, 1st srutaskand, 1st chapter starts with cause of bondage, the answer given is parigraha. And further it is mentioned there are 2 kinds of parigraha, jeev and ajeev (living and non-living). Jeev includes all living beings to whom one is attached and non-living beings(ajeev) includes all of one's possessions to which one is attached. Most important is to consider the word 'attachment' which is moorcha= parigraha. Now to ponder...

Tuesday 4 December 2012

Sunday 23 September 2012

Your query to repeat the 5 obstacles which render wholesome learning impossible. Uttaradhyana Sutra 11th Chapter explains the 5 obstacles.
1. Egoism 2. Delusion 3. Carelessness 4.Illness 5. Idleness

1. Egoism is when the " I " and " ME " exists, such mind will either agree/disagree, evaluate, imagine, judge, measure, approximate to what is right according to him in the process of learning and hence unable to comprehend.

2. Delusion- A state of mind always in the past or imagining the future.

3. Carelessness- Not being attentive.

4. Illness- Maybe physical or mental. Hence, not in a state of equanimity.

5. Idleness- Lack of energy(virya).

All these 5 jointly or severally becomes obstacle to right observation and learning. Learning is a process of comprehension and renunciation i.e. learning without accumulation (parigraha). Hence, not memorizing or mugging. Here learning maybe subjectively or objectively. Learning or state of knowing is the inherent quality of the substance, the living thing.  When one is unable to comprehend a subject, one or more of the five above causes has to be invariably present. Now to ponder...

Monday 30 July 2012

World Peace

Better than a thousand hollow words, is one word that brings peace.

One word that brings peace can fight off thousands that bring war.

Words Like: Fight. Argue. Hate. Envy. Despise. Resent. Covet. Loathe. Detest. Dislike. Abhor. Squabble. Bicker. Disagree. Feud.

None of these words hold as much strength as one word: Love

 Great Words Given by Siddhārtha Gautama Buddha

 --Post by Harsh And Darshana Daftary. 
Regards to SriKumar sir.. !

Sunday 22 July 2012

Kiriya Thanam

Suyagad ang sutra second srutaskand second chapter describes how a jeev acquires in all 4 gatis(existences)  
karman vargana pudgal by activities of mind,speech and body undergoes suffering(dhand). SUFFERING includes both feeling(anubhavanti) and knowing(vidhanti). The sangnin(with mind and reasoning) beings feel and know, the siddhas only knows, beings with no mind and reason-less only feel, things without life neither knows nor feels.  There are 13 kinds of activity out of which 12 are samparayiki and the 13Th is iriyapathki. The 12 are unworthy i.e. when oneSELF is in a state of agitation(anupsanth) and the 13th is when the self is in equanimity(upsanth). It is explained as follows:
1. Suffering undergone out of self interest- This in particular has a motive for he thinks one has to provide for his family, relatives etc. Thereby kills and injures living beings both movable and immovable or gets it done or consents to the act.
2. Suffering without personal interest- This is without motive out of habit of cruelty and becomes a wanton killer. Eg: hunting as a sport.
3. Suffering by slaying- Through apprehension one maybe hurt, or is being hurt, or will be hurt by himself or for others and hence kills movable and immovable beings, gets it done or consents.
4. Suffering by accident- This is by mistake thinking one being for other.
5. Suffering through error of sight- Eg: Mistaking an innocent for a robber
6. Suffering by lying- For his own sake or for others.
7. Suffering by theft- Taking what is not freely given.
8. Suffering by conceit- When a being is in a state of melancholy, sorry, angry, anxious, worrying, in thoughts and planning and plotting.
9. Suffering through pride- When one is proud of caste, family, beauty, piety, knowledge, success, power, intelligence(the 8 madhasthans), he blames, abuses, reviles, despises, stubborn and fickle minded.
10.Suffering through bad treatment of friends and relatives- Living with one's relations, always punishing physically which he thinks is a mistake, extorting. When such a person is at home the relatives are miserable and when he's abroad they rejoice.
11. Suffering through deceit- When one conceals intentions, uses 2 kinds of speech which are unworthy, when asked one thing they answer another, maayashalya, and never in pure leshya. Malpractice in austerities and pennants. Blames and reviles whom he has deceived, and offering defenses for cruel actions.
12. Suffering because of greed- Through speech which is both true and untrue and acquires parigraha through secret rites.
13. Activity related to religious life- Acquires karman even when one practices 5 samitis and 3 guptis but the karman comes in contact in the 1st moment(samaya), in the 2nd it is experienced and 3rd it is destroyed. For all practical purposes the one is said to be exempt from karman.
All Arihants of past, present and future have declared, declare, will declare these 13 kinds of acquiring karmanvargana pudgal.!

Saturday 21 July 2012

Who is Nirgranth : Detail

Etymologically 'Nir' means 'without', 'Granth' means 'knot, ties, attachment'.
Lord Mahavira was known as niggantham nayaputte by the Buddhists. 

Naya meant his clan, putte means son. Paavayana sachham means what he spoke was all facts. 
Granth also means book. Book denotes knowledge. It means what he spoke was without knowledge. Here knowledge as understood by layman(based on memory). Since he was Thirtankar naam gothra karam he had to exhaust his vachan vargana pudhgal. His deshna(lecture) was not given with the intention to teach because he was vitraag(without attachment). He practiced the highest form of meditation known as Five samithis and three gupthis. If one understands this, there is no meditation beyond this. He was a yogi(conventional) of the highest order. Herman Jacobi describes NIRGRANTH as shameless which is also true because it means absence of pride. Mahavir described 4 passions which brings about a man's downfall: anger, pride, deceit and greed. His famous sutra "the man who knows one, knows all. The man who knows all, knows one". If one can comprehend this sutra he will reach bodhi.

Monday 20 February 2012

Man,You are your own friend,it is useless to look for a friend outside yourself!